Quiet Isn’t So Quiet, After All

When we first moved from the bustling Atlanta suburb to The Land of Making Do, it was quiet.

House, 2006

No, beyond quiet.  This country setting was silent.  With only young trees close to the house, there were no birds fluttering about, no nests with baby chicks calling out for mom.

I’d sit on the porch and wonder where all the birds were.  Why aren’t they here?

I knew I’d have a little work to do in preparing a proper place for birds to feel welcome.

So, I planted trees, surrounded the house with greenery, flowering plants for nectar, and eventually they came.

House, 2012

Now, when I sit on the porch, the chirping is non-stop.  Deafening, almost.  Birds, near and far, are actively and noisily going about their lives.  Can I read three sentences without my mind being drawn away from my book?  No!

I wonder…was I so used to the loudness of traffic, car engines and horns, that I couldn’t hear the birds at first?  Were they here all the time, and I was deaf to them?  As we’ve settled into country life, we’ve become acclimated to the soft sounds of country.

I hear birds chirping over the edge of the porch, in the bushes where they must have built a nest close by.

Bird Nest in Bush

I hear singing in the nearby trees, as well as the far-away tree lines.    Doves are cooing at the barn, behind the house.  Cows are mooing at a neighbor’s pasture a mile away, sounding as if they’re in the next yard (well, they are if 160-acre squares are considered a yard).

It’s amazing what you hear in nature when you block out everything else.  So, was it my ears that couldn’t hear the chirping when we first arrived?  Or, was it my busy mind that needed settling first?

Yes, it’s calm and quiet here.  Soothing.  But, definitely not silent.

Hoot!  Hoot!

About Kim

Hi! I'm a Christian, wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend, and fifty-something blogger. Let's live gracefully through the seasons of life, shall we?
This entry was posted in Around the Farm, Just for Kicks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

