It Happens To The Best Of Us

Before we started our ride today, I made a flippant comment about something, which was “It happens to the best of us.”  HH replied, “I guess that means you.”  Well…I’d never really thought of it before, but I guess it could be that “us” is the person speaking.  HH always makes me laugh.  It’s one of the reasons I fell for him all those years ago.  Anyway, that saying stuck, and we threw it back and forth all day, and so did our friends riding along.  That’s one of the reasons these rides are fun.  ‘Cause we and our friends like to have a sense of humor about things.

Today we started in Villa Rica, GA, early when it was cold.  By the time we stopped to eat breakfast in Ellijay, GA, about 9:30, it was warming up.  A hot breakfast didn’t hurt, either.  Eggs, biscuits, gravy, hash browns, you get the picture.  The place was Mike’s, but the inside wall said it was John’s.  We got the low-down, though.  It used to be John’s, but now it is Mike’s.  All the same family, as John is the uncle.  Either way, it was good food!

We rode through part of the Blue Ridge Parkway, and I snapped some pictures so y’all could see some leaves.  We have leaves in Mississippi.  They’re just prettier here.  More vibrant.  You know.

A lot of the trees were bare in the upper elevations, but occasionally there stood a real beauty.

To answer the question I mentioned this morning, I go on these motorcycle trips with HH because:

  • HH wants me to
  • It’s like riding a bicycle, enjoying God’s beautiful creation, only without the peddling
  • HH wants me to
  • It frees your mind of all responsibilities
  • HH wants me to
  • My creative juices start flooding my mind with ideas
  • HH wants me to.

Does that help you understand why?  Motorcycling is something HH loves to do as often as he can, so why wouldn’t I want to share that with him?  Yes, it gets hard and tiring being out in the elements.  But it’s also invigorating.  We try to avoid the worst of the elements, like cold and rain.  Sometimes taken by surprise, we’re caught in it, but we avoid it when we know it’s coming.  HH has provided me with protective clothing for those emergencies (remember the pink panda, y’all?).

On the subject of tiring, I’ve become quite a napper on the motorcycle.  On the ride yesterday, due to a recent problem with insomnia, I had about five naps.  I almost named my post yesterday “Between Naps On The Bike” because literally everything I saw was sandwiched between a nap and the next nap.  Short naps, y’all, because stuff wakes me up.

I don’t believe a person could fall off the back of a Goldwing (you know, the couch on wheels), because it has a curved back that “snugs” you in.  If you are a rider and want to master this maneuver, simply prop one arm so your shoulder is elevated enough to rest the bottom edge of your helmet against.  That keeps your head from falling forward and hitting the driver’s helmet, alerting him to the fact that you’ve been asleep.  Today I was busted by our friends riding with us, following behind our bike.  When the driver saw me move a little bit after a long stretch of being very still, he said over the intercom, “Good morning, Kim.”  !!!!!  Busted.  It happens to the best of us!

God blessed us with a fantastic day, warm, with beautful sunshine.  To Him be the Glory!  I’ll hoot again tomorrow, y’all. 

About Kim

Hi! I'm a Christian, wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend, and fifty-something blogger. Let's live gracefully through the seasons of life, shall we?
This entry was posted in Home, Motorcycling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

