Happy Fall, Y’all!

After weeks of keeping my head down, working to keep my “neck above water”, I suddenly looked up yesterday and realized it’s been three weeks since my last blog post.  It’s Fall, after all!  The weather is cool, in short spurts, at least.  Now is the time to get out and work at the barn, clean it, clean horses, work in the flower beds, take an on-line class, take a painting class…what?  Me – paint?

I’m a wall painter, y’all.  Very therapeutic it is, up the wall, then down, roller up, roller down, over and over, with my mind wandering and pondering.  To paint something other than the background of a blank canvas (hence, a wall, y’all!) is an extreme stretch for me.  My mother is the artist, the family painter with talent for artful pictures that look like what they are meant to look like.  Now I understand the fever she caught years ago in her first painting class.  Does it always last a lifetime, like her fever has?  Or will mine break any moment to release me from the wakeful nights of planning the next artistic venture? 

It didn’t help matters that a friend asked me to make some stuff and share a booth with her at the local festival this weekend.  Can I just say that HH wishes I would get back to my normal responsibilities?  We’ll leave it at that.  The obsessions with artsy stuff shifted from just painting to various trails, mostly leading to my favorite nearby rehab addict outlet, Building Blocks in Tupelo, and back to my sewing room that is bursting with leftover fabrics, trims, and embellishments galore!

I was telling a friend how old used cabinet doors were my latest “canvas”, and she hired me on the spot, sight unseen, to paint some lolly-pop pictures for her kitchen.  Wow, that was easy!  One class, and already I had my first customer.  So, after more hours than I care to admit, here they are:

That was fun and whimsical.  Don’t ask me to do anything serious, though.  I can only paint a straight line along a baseboard or crown molding, and hardly there.

So, back to my room full of scraps, here’s a rooster creation on a cabinet door.  If you had seen that door before I started cleaning, all covered with yucky filth, you wouldn’t have believed it was possible to get it painted and nice again.  But I love roosters these days, so I made another one.

I bought a total of 13 cabinet doors and 3 drawers.  All are finished with their re-do, but I’ll have to talk about the drawer re-purposing in another blog post, ’cause I’m tired y’all.  But first, this was another door I really liked when finished.

I love cupcakes.  And pink, fluffy icing is the best!  It’s been a delightful hoot, and… 
Happy Fall, Y’all!

About Kim

Hi! I'm a Christian, wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend, and fifty-something blogger. Let's live gracefully through the seasons of life, shall we?
This entry was posted in Home, Just for Kicks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

