Home, Sweet Home!

 We left Lamar, Colorado, on Thursday morning, headed for home.  It took us two days from that point to get here, the first of which was more cow feed lot territory (again!), so I had my nose plugged.  I vowed to never eat a hamburger or steak again.  There’s no way I can go the rest of my life without eating beef, but it surely makes you stop and think.  How can anything healthy come from such putrid origins?  I’m ready to find a grass-fed cow, one that’s been in a field lush with green grass to chew on, doing what God designed it to do, have it slaughtered, and put it in the freezer.  I had never really noted these feed lots up close before.  (Perhaps because I was in a car and there was no smell coming through the vents to get my attention.)  But now I’ve seen how thousands of cows are all crammed into a small fenced area with dirt (and you know what else!) under their feet (and bellies) with no grass to eat, given a trough of grain, just laying around because there’s no foraging to do.  I’ve heard people that have worked in chicken processing plants say that they would never eat chicken from the grocery store again because they knew first-hand how that meat was handled.  In both cases, it’s all about the bottom line.

OK, so then we stopped for lunch, and this chic was not going to eat beef.  And I didn’t.  I ate chicken!  (Very soon I should visit a chicken processing plant, and then I’ll be on my way to a diet.)  Dodge City was the town where we stopped, which has maintained some of the old wild west appearance, sort of.  I needed a horse and buggy to make it more realistic, though.  Don’t you miss those old western movies?  We saw many areas on this trip where those movies were filmed, and it made me want to go home and watch some again.  The good ole’ days, y’all.

I didn’t get a picture of the part that looked more like the old west because they had a fence that blocked it from my view from my spot in the parking lot.  We were on a mission to get home by Friday night, so we didn’t have time to do the full “tour”.  Sorry!

Next was Oklahoma, and that state smells normal…and has greenery.  I could tell I was getting closer to the South.  We stayed the night in Tulsa, which was my first time to be in that town, and it seemed to be a nice place.  Yesterday we completed our track homeward, through the remainder of Oklahoma, then Arkansas, and then it happened.  We crossed over the Mississippi River, and it was like the race horse had been let out of the gate!  I don’t know who the jockey driving this bike was racing, but he was headed to the finish line, and I was hanging onto those coat tails again.

Through the delta we flew, snapped a few pictures along the way, and in a SNAP, we were home.

Yes, 14 days was a little long to be gone.  God blessed us over and over again on this trip.  We saw wonderful things and did fun stuff, but in the end, your rear-end is just tired of sitting in that same seat every day!  It’ll probably be a while before we want to ride again.

My husband now is talking about needing to get on the tractor and do some work around here.  Oh, and the horses are running wild and need to be ridden, too.  Always something to ride…

Thank y’all for giving a hoot about our trip.  I’ve enjoyed sharing it with you.  We’re glad to be  home safely and look forward to being back at church tomorrow, Vacation Bible School next week, and getting back to “normal” again.

About Kim

Hi! I'm a Christian, wife, mother, daughter, sister, sister-in-law, friend, and blogger at CurtainQueenCreates.com, where I seek to inspire you to create the home you love to live in. Please join me for recipes, sewing, painting, and DIY projects, plus a little gardening now and then, too. I'm currently writing home decor sewing eCourses so everyone can learn to sew home decor and window treatments in a simple and stream-lined way. Soon, you can join me to simply sew home decor projects at BeACurtainQueen.CurtainQueenCreates.com.
This entry was posted in Home, Motorcycling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

