Whoa, Baby, Whoa! There’s Rain Ahead!

Hoot, y’all!  The Pink Panda rain suit may have to make a repeat appearance!  We’ve slowed our Eastward approach toward home since we see the “red zone” and rain covering most of the area between here and there.  Our view of the skies at this time looks clear as a bell, and we hope to travel behind the bad stuff and not get tangled up with it. 

This morning we stopped at a gas station that is similar to our Taco Tico in Houston, MS.  The difference is that they have some tables set up for eat-in customers. When I entered the store, I saw an OPEC meeting going on among four women.  (OPEC is for Old People Enjoying Coffee.)  Before I left the store, I had a deep desire to sit down and talk with these ladies.  Such wisdom there is to be found in the “older generation”.  Their little town of Bent, Colorado, is adorable and homey, and I would have liked to get to know these women and hear a little about their history there in that town.  We always have to get back on the road quickly, and I didn’t want to get into trouble with the boss by dragging behind on the schedule.  But all day I’ve not been able to shake the feeling that I should have spoken with that little group.  I’m sure I missed out on a blessing.  ‘Cause women are fun, y’all!

But another blessing was waiting for us on down the road.  The motel we’re in tonight in Lamar, Colorado, is a mom and pop type of place.  The guy that “settled us in” has gone way above his call of duty, helping us in finding everything we’ve needed since our arrival.  We have been shocked the last two nights at how the name-brand hotels are full in these small towns, so we’ve found some smaller motels.  We were told that the reason the chain hotels are full is because a lot of oil people are in the area.  I don’t know about oil, but I do know about cow lots!  Normally I enjoy being on the motorcycle with all the sweet smells of nature.  Wheweee!  Not that kind of nature!  You can smell the cow lots for miles before you see them and for a long way after you’ve passed them.  After many miles of smelly smells, we needed to get off the road.  Finding the “right” hotel can be a challenge at times.  For tonight, I am glad the local Holiday Inn Express was full and prompted us to follow their recommendation to the local “American Owned” Holiday Motel, as their sign states.  If you’re ever in Lamar, CO, stop in here for a night.  You will not regret it.  You see, God blesses even through chain hotels being full.

I didn’t take pictures today.  That poor camera needed a rest after yesterday!  Sunset is Jeffrey’s favorite time of day, so this picture is for him.  I took it at Zion Park the other day.

We have some funny conversations on these trips, and this one has been no exception.  It’s amazing to me how many roads on the sides of cliffs going around the mountains have no guard rails.  I asked Jeffrey what he would do if we accidentally went over the edge.  Like me, he has a fear of heights and avoids the edge as much as humanly possible, but he answered that there would be nothing to do at that point of going over but to go out in style.  “Do your best swan dive and make the best of it,” he said.  I like that idea, but how do you concentrate on form and style of dive when the sudden stop has got to be on your mind?  It’s gonna really hurt!  (Yes, sometimes we are somewhat morbid, but a girl needs to talk about everything, right?)  Living through it would not be a good thing, in my view.  Heaven would be the better option than months or years of rehab.  But, then again, being with Jesus is always the better option, life here or life hereafter!

About Kim

Hi! I'm a Christian, wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend, and fifty-something blogger. Let's live gracefully through the seasons of life, shall we?
This entry was posted in Home, Motorcycling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

